What is CMMC, and How Does it Impact Federal Contracting?

Source: governmentciomedia.com

The Defense Department's Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a multi-level cybersecurity certification system for contractors doing business with the federal government. CMMC codifies cybersecurity practices to ensure an engaged culture of cybersecurity throughout a contractor’s supply chain.

DOD first launched the standard Jan. 31, 2020, and its acquisition and sustainment CISO, Katie Arrington, has been spearheading the effort.

According to the General Services Administration, the system “establishes and verifies that companies within the Defense Industrial Base (DIB) are implementing cybersecurity measures to protect Federal Contract Information (FCI) and Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) within their unclassified networks.”

Click here to read the full article.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All